University Information



139 Carrington Rd,
Mount Albert,
Auckland 1025,
New Zealand
Unitec is New Zealand’s largest institute of technology, with more than 20,000 students studying over 150 work-oriented programmes. We offer leading employment-focused education at our two campuses in Mt. Albert, and Waitakere.

Unitec was founded as "Carrington Technical Institute" in 1976 on the Mt Albert site on Carrington Rd, which has 55 hectares of grounds. The area on which Unitecs main campus is located was formerly home to the Whau Lunatic Asylum, later known as Carrington Hospital. The hospital building, an imposing brick Italianate-Romanesque structure, is located at the northern end of the Unitec campus. The hospital building was the largest building in New Zealand when it was built in the 1860s. The hospital was decommissioned during the early 1990s, and the building is now part of Unitec.

The name changed to "Carrington Polytechnic" in 1987 and then to "Unitec Institute of Technology" in 1994. Unitec applied for university status in 1999, but the Government ruled in 2005 that Unitec did not meet the academic criteria of a university and would remain an institute of technology.[1]

In 2006, Unitec opened its new Waitakere campus in the centre of Henderson. The campus has recently been extended to include a new state-of-the art learning centre and library. The campus is a joint development with the former Waitakere City Council and includes the new Waitakere Central Library. Unitecs Waitakere campus offers mainly business, language, and health and community studies programs.

In August 2011, Unitec opened a new campus at 10 Rothwell Avenue, Albany, on Aucklands North Shore. The new campus was located in a high growth area where there is unmet demand for vocational and trade training. The Albany campus offered a range of courses including automotive and mechanical engineering, electrical and electronic engineering, building and construction, information technology, animal care, health care, business services and retail, language and foundation courses. This campus closed in December 2016.[2]

There are three libraries across the two campuses:

Mt Albert, Hub Library
Mt Albert, Building 1 Library
Waitakere Campus Library