University Information



1, Jalan SS15/8, Ss 15, 47500 Subang Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
Taylors University (commonly referred to as Taylors) is a private university in Subang Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia. It was founded in 1969 as a college, was awarded university college status in 2006, and university status in 2010. Taylors University offers courses in tertiary education, from foundation and diploma to degree, post-graduate and professional programmes.

Taylors University is a member of the Taylors Education Group which comprises Taylors College, Garden International School, Taylors International School, Australian International School Malaysia, Nexus International School Malaysia, Nexus International School Singapore.


The first Taylors campus was located in a building on Jalan Pantai, Kuala Lumpur offering the Victorian Higher School Certificate (VHSC) programme for a student population of 345. In 1985, Taylors moved to its second campus in PJ New Town. Four years later, the Subang Jaya Campus was launched and two new pre-university programmes were introduced: the Canadian Pre-University Programme (CPU) and South Australian Matriculation (SAM).

By 1990, more programmes had been introduced, including the American Degree Programme; Architecture, Quantity Surveying and Construction; Business, Accounting, Marketing and Finance; Cambridge A Level; Computer Science, Software Engineering and IT; Engineering; Hospitality, Tourism and Culinary Arts; Taylors Business Foundation.

In 2001, the fourth campus in Wisma Subang housing the Taylors Business School was launched. The following year, Taylors College Petaling Jaya (TCPJ) became the fifth campus at Leisure Commerce Square, and Taylors School of Hospitality and Tourism was relocated from Kuala Lumpur to this new campus. TCPJ also housed the School of Communication, School of Architecture, Building and Design, and Taylors School of Computing. In 2004, the sixth campus was launched in Subang Square housing the American Degree Programme.

More expansion came with the launch of the seventh campus in Sri Hartamas (TCSH) in 2008. This campus is able to accommodate 800 students and runs the Cambridge A Level programme, South Australian Matriculation programme and International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme.

Work commenced on the RM450 million Taylors University Lakeside Campus in Subang Jaya in early 2007. The campus, which was completed in 2010, houses all tertiary programmes under one roof.

In November 2015, the university collaborated in organising Kuwait Global Technopreneurship Challenge (KGTC).
School of Engineering

The School of Engineering at Taylors University is a Project-Based Learning School and is a member of the CDIO Initiative. Taylors School of Engineering offers the following programmes: PhD in Engineering, MSc in Engineering, Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) in Chemical Engineering, Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) in Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) in Mechanical Engineering, and Foundation in Engineering. It developed and successfully deployed the first MOOCs in the history of Malaysia, exploring Entrepreneurship and Success.[3]

Taylors University developed a main campus called Taylors University Lakeside Campus in year 2010s to accommodate with the ever expanding amount of student intake. Alongside the main education facilities such as laboratories, computer labs and kitchen, they also built a commercial block to help students with education materials as well as restaurants. It is also the location of the university hostel U-Residence which can lodge around 900 students and there is a hotel facility called Ruemz. It is run by the students and some part-time employees.
Counseling and Psychological Services Centre (CPSC)

In 2008, Taylors established the Counseling and Psychological Services Centre (CPSC). Taylors established the CPSC to demonstrate awareness that the psychological well-being of an individual is as important as academic achievement. The centre is led by En. Adnan Omar, a suicide and social sciences expert, who made appearances on NTV7 for discussion on suicide.[4]
Teaching and learning philosophy

Consisting of Taylors University (tertiary programmes) and Taylors College (foundation and pre-university courses), Taylors has educated more than 65,000 students.

Taylors pioneered the Taylors Graduate Capabilities (TGC) initiative in 2008. This approach emphasises a student-centred curriculum, aiming to produce graduates who not only possess academic and theoretical knowledge but supplementary qualities such as leadership, creativity, and teamwork.[5]
Student life

Taylors offers a range of pre-university, diploma and degree courses. Acknowledged as the biggest independent centre for Cambridge A Level (CAL), Taylors runs the largest South Australian Matriculation (SAM) programme, and the Canadian Pre-University Programme (CPU), a programme recognised and acknowledged by top universities worldwide. The American Degree Transfer Programme (ADP) allows students to apply into universities in the United States.

Students can choose to major in subjects including Architecture, Computer Science, Engineering, Quantity Surveying, Biosciences and Law, to Business, Communication, Design, Hospitality and Tourism, Medicine and Pharmacy.

Taylors has introduced new programmes, including the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (IBDP), degrees in Chemical Engineering, Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and Quantity Surveying and Postgraduate Studies.
Taylors University is a member of Taylors Education Group, which comprises Taylors College, Garden International School, Sri Garden Schools, Australian International School Malaysia, Nexus International School Malaysia, Nexus International School Singapore and upcoming Taylors International School.